The short list for this year's $10,000 George Turner Fiction Prize, sponsored by the Transworld division of Random House was announced on 22 March 1999 and is as follows:

Wendy A. J. Adnams-Hodges for The City of Dreams
Adam Browne and Sam Sejavka for Autopsy Turvy
Hal Colebatch for Millennium Troopers
Narrelle Harris for Witch Faith
Dave Luckett for Subversive Activity
Maxine McArthur for The Centre Far
Christopher McDonough for When the Angels Fall
Joel Shepherd for Full Circle
and Andrés Vaccari for Prey

1998 George Turner
Prize Winner

Entrants for the Turner Prize are first considered by a sifting panel - comprised of several specialist science fiction/fantasy booksellers, an academic, a writer and a publisher that looked at nearly a hundred entries to come up with the short list - which forwards a shortlist of ten entries to the judging panel.

Shona Martyn, Head of Publishing at Transworld, expressed appreciation for the work of the sifting panel and extended her congratulations to all the shortlisted authors: "I'm very excited by the quality - and variety - of the manuscripts on the shortlist and look forward to publishing the winning manuscript on our Bantam list late in the year. I'm also pleased that we'll be publishing the second novel of last year's winner, Tansy Rayner Roberts, in September." Roberts novel, Liquid Gold, is the sequel to the 1998 Turner Prize Winner, Splashdance Silver.

A judging panel consisting of Peter McNamara, former publisher of Aphelion Books; Leigh Blackmore, bookseller at Dymocks Books in Sydney; and Louise Thurtell, Transworld's Fiction Publisher, will now choose a winner from the shortlist.

The winning author is to be advised on 7 May and will be presented with their $10,000 prize money at a combined presentation and launch for the novel at WorldCon in September.

Now in its second year, this wonderful prize was named in honour of the late George Turner, one of Australia's most distinguished science fiction writers, and guest of honor at the 1999 WorldCon. The Prize aims to foster writers in these two fast-growing areas of Australian publishing.