Australians in World Fantasy Awards

The Final Ballot published on Locus Online confirms that two Australians, Terry Dowling and Shaun Tan, have been shortlisted for 2001 World Fantasy Awards in a total of three categories: Shaun for Artist and Terry for both Collection (Blackwater Days) and Short Fiction ("The Saltimbanques").

Only three Australian works have been nominated in the past, including Jack Dann and Janeen Webb's Dreaming Down-Under, which won for Anthology in the 1999 WFAs.

The complete Final Ballot is as follows:

  • Declare, Tim Powers (Subterranean Press; Morrow 2001)
  • Galveston, Sean Stewart (Ace Books)
  • The Grand Ellipse, Paula Volsky (Bantam Spectra)
  • His Dark Materials 3: The Amber Spyglass, Philip Pullman (Knopf; Scholastic UK)
  • Lord of Emperors, Guy Gavriel Kay (Viking Canada; HarperPrism; Earthlight)
  • Perdido Street Station, China Miéville (Macmillan; Del Rey 2001)
  • "Blue Kansas Sky", Michael Bishop (Blue Kansas Sky)
  • "Chip Crockett's Christmas Carol", Elizabeth Hand (Sci Fiction, serialized 6-Dec-00 – 27-Dec-00)
  • The Man on the Ceiling, Steve Rasnic Tem & Melanie Tem (American Fantasy)
  • "Mr Dark's Carnival", Glen Hirshberg (Shadows and Silence)
  • "Mr. Simonelli or the Fairy Widower", Susanna Clarke (Black Heart, Ivory Bones)
  • "Pelican Cay", David Case (Dark Terrors 5)
  • "Seventy-Two Letters", Ted Chiang (Vanishing Acts)
  • "Down Here in the Garden", Tia V. Travis (Horror Garage #1, May 2000)
  • "Is There Anybody There?", Kim Newman (The New English Library Book of Internet Stories)
  • "Lincoln in Frogmore", Andy Duncan (Beluthahatchie and Other Stories)
  • "The Pottawatomie Giant", Andy Duncan (Sci Fiction, 11.01.00)
  • "The Raggle Taggle Gypsy-O", Michael Swanwick (Tales of Old Earth)
  • "The Saltimbanques", Terry Dowling (Blackwater Days, Eidolon 29/30)
  • "Shoe and Marriage", Kelly Link (4 Stories)
  • Dark Matter: A Century of Speculative Fiction from the African Diaspora, Sheree R. Thomas, ed. (Warner Aspect)
  • Dark Terrors 5: The Gollancz Book of Horror, Stephen Jones & David Sutton, eds. (Gollancz)
  • Shadows and Silence, Barbara Roden & Christopher Roden, eds. (Ash-Tree Press)
  • Vanishing Acts, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
  • whispers from the cotton tree root: caribbean fabulist fiction, Nalo Hopkinson, ed. (Invisible Cities Press)
  • The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Thirteenth Annual Collection, Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds. (St. Martin's)
  • Beluthahatchie and Other Stories, Andy Duncan (Golden Gryphon)
  • Blackwater Days, Terry Dowling (Eidolon Books)
  • Magic Terror: Seven Tales, Peter Straub (Random House)
  • Perpetuity Blues and Other Stories, Neal Barrett, Jr. (Golden Gryphon)
  • The Perseids and Other Stories, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)
  • Travel Arrangements: Short Stories, M. John Harrison (Gollancz)
  • Jim Burns
  • Kinuko Y. Craft
  • Les Edwards
  • Daniel Merriam
  • John Jude Palencar
  • Shaun Tan
  • Ellen Datlow (for editing Sci Fiction and anthologies)
  • Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner (for Spectrum 7: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art)
  • William K. Schafer (for Subterranean Press)
  • Tom Shippey (for J.R.R. Tolkien: Author of the Century (HarperCollins UK; Houghton Mifflin 2001))
  • Gary Turner & Marty Halpern (for Golden Gryphon Press)
  • Benjamin Cossel, Jeremy Lassen & Jason Williams (for Nightshade Press)
  • Peter Crowther (for PS Publishing)
  • Philip J. Rahman & Dennis E. Weiler (for Fedogan & Bremer)
  • Barbara Roden & Christopher Roden (for Ash-Tree Press)
  • Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker (for Tartarus Press)
  • Bill Sheehan (for At The Foot Of The Story Tree: An Inquiry into the Fiction of Peter Straub (Subterranean Press))
The Judges for this year's awards are Steven Erikson, Paula Guran, Diana Wynne Jones, Graham Joyce and Jonathan Strahan. Winners will be announced at the World Fantasy Convention in Montreal, November 1 – 4, 2001.

(Wednesday, August 08 @ 06:28:11 WST)

Eidolon Publications takes no responsibility for views expressed in comments below.
"Australians in World Fantasy Awards" | Login/Create Account | 0 comments

Eidolon Publications 1995-2005

[Site Credits | Privacy | Terms of Service]

215050 visits since 16Nov18